Interview up on SF Signal

 The Hugo-winning website SF Signal, which happens to host some of the best articles on what is happening in science fiction every day, posted podcast number 302 earlier this month. As part of their series of folks attending MileHiCon from October 23-25, 2015, Patrick Hester conducted an interview with little old me. I had a […]

Reviews of Classic Doctor Who

 While I love the modern version of that rascally time-traveling Gallifreyan, I still enjoy the classic episodes. I decided to watch every episode I could, in order, and to post something here. I’ll include a small summary and my opinion on each story. I will use the title of the story arc instead of the […]

CreateSpace Titles in Canada Now Earning Same as USA

 I received this in my email a few minutes ago. This is good news for print sales. Publishers will receive more funds from CreateSpace sales in Canada via instead of having those sales run through the Expanded Services. I’m wondering how Kobo will react to this news.   Hello, Starting October 8, we began […]

Book Review: The Harvest by Scott Nicholson

 Title: The Harvest Author: Scott Nicholson Genre: Horror Publisher: Haunted Computer Productions, Inc Release Date: March 9, 2014 Format: Kindle Pages: 360 Source: Purchased For fans of Stephen King, Dean Koontz, and Scott Sigler, from a #1 bestselling Kindle author. An infection that consumes and changes people… When an alien entity lands in the remote […]

A Checklist for Editors

 Here’s a checklist of five items I’m looking to get from an editor. Sometimes it makes sense to let a potential editor you’re interested in hiring know what you’re looking for. Be Brutal. When I submit something to an editor, particularly if I am paying that editor, I expect them to be honest and as […]

Specialist Dictionaries

 When writing prose or poetry, most folks are used to the standard dictionaries and encyclopedias. These tools are useful to make sure an author is using a term correctly. When delving into specialist, or niche, subjects, it may be a good idea to check and see if a dictionary or encyclopedia exists to make sure […]

Have You Set Up Your AuthorCentral UK Page Yet?

 You might be surprised to learn your AuthorCentral page does not magically transfer to (You do have one in the USA, don’t you?) Using the same email address as the US version, pop on over to AC in the UK: Why the same address? To save you from forgetting your login information and […] KDP Select Contest

 Parlez-vous français? For those that speak or, more importantly, write French, there’s something cool happening over at the website. On July 1st, Amazon’s French subsidiary announced a new literary program to expand their Kindle Direct Publishing ebook lineup. Self-pubbed books that are in KDP Select over on are eligible. Ebooks that are downloaded […]

Malcon Denver 2015 Schedule

 Malcon Denver Schedule August 14-16, 2015 Friday 10:00 – 10:50pm in Room One:  Is It True You Always Have Story Ideas? Saturday 11:00 – 11:50am in Room One: Violence and Horror 2:00 – 2:50pm in Room Two: Sympathetic Villains 7:00 – 7:50pm in Room Three: NanoWriMo 9:00 – 9:50pm in Room One: Steampunk in Fiction: Is London […]

Supporting The Passive Voice

 I visit The Passive Voice almost daily to catch up on the latest news, opinions, and gossip. If you’re an indie author or small press and you have links to your books, you can help to support The Passive Voice by adding on a string of characters to your links. The good thing is it […]