Product Review: Epubor Ultimate Converter for eBooks

 Product Name: Epubor Ultimate Version: 3.0.5.4 Product Website: http://www.epubor.com/ultimate.html Windows/Mac? Yes/Yes Trial Version Available? Yes, 30-day Disclosure: Affiliate? No, I am not an affiliate. If you’re like me, you have a lot of eBooks that you’ve purchased over the years. Ever since Amazon reached out and removed copies of the book 1984 from all Kindle users […]

Doctor Who Review: 001-An Unearthly Child

 Episode Number: 001 Production Code: A Number of Episodes: 4 Original Broadcast Date: November 23, 1963 The Doctor: William Hartnell Companions: Susan (The Doctor’s Granddaughter), Ian, Barbara Location: Earth Main Enemy, Alien or Monster: Kal Notes: Sometimes referred to as 100,000BC, but it was re-titled before release. First appearance of The Doctor, the TARDIS, Susan, […]

Movies, Shows, & Books Re-Imagined as Horror Flicks

 The Wizard of Oz – After sustaining a head injury, a woman goes on a psychopathic battle to the death for the last pair of ugly red shoes. Yertle the Turtle by Dr. Seuss – A megalomaniac reptile seeks to recreate the original big bang theory of turtles all the way down. Rudolph the Red-Nosed […]

Book Release: Sidekicks

 Title: Sidekicks Series: MileHiCon Presents Author: Sam Knight Genre: Speculative Fiction Publisher: Villainous Press Release Date: October 23, 2015 Format: Print, Kindle, ePub, PDF Pages: 304 Sidekicks are used to being hidden from the spotlight shining on the hero they support. They work behind the scenes, doing their best to support their more famous companion. […]

Book Review: Ghosts of Coronado Bay

 Title: Ghosts of Coronado Bay Series: A Maya Blair Mystery Author: JG Faherty Genre: Paranormal Publisher: JournalStone Release Date: June 10, 2011 Format: Print Pages: 162 Source: Purchased 2011 HWA Bram Stoker finalist for superior achievement in Young Adult fiction. By all accounts, 16-year-old Maya Blair is a typical teen-age high school student. She hangs out with […]

Interview up on SF Signal

 The Hugo-winning website SF Signal, which happens to host some of the best articles on what is happening in science fiction every day, posted podcast number 302 earlier this month. As part of their series of folks attending MileHiCon from October 23-25, 2015, Patrick Hester conducted an interview with little old me. I had a […]

Reviews of Classic Doctor Who

 While I love the modern version of that rascally time-traveling Gallifreyan, I still enjoy the classic episodes. I decided to watch every episode I could, in order, and to post something here. I’ll include a small summary and my opinion on each story. I will use the title of the story arc instead of the […]

CreateSpace Titles in Canada Now Earning Same as USA

 I received this in my email a few minutes ago. This is good news for print sales. Publishers will receive more funds from CreateSpace sales in Canada via Amazon.ca instead of having those sales run through the Expanded Services. I’m wondering how Kobo will react to this news.   Hello, Starting October 8, we began […]

Book Review: The Harvest by Scott Nicholson

 Title: The Harvest Author: Scott Nicholson Genre: Horror Publisher: Haunted Computer Productions, Inc Release Date: March 9, 2014 Format: Kindle Pages: 360 Source: Purchased For fans of Stephen King, Dean Koontz, and Scott Sigler, from a #1 bestselling Kindle author. An infection that consumes and changes people… When an alien entity lands in the remote […]

A Checklist for Editors

 Here’s a checklist of five items I’m looking to get from an editor. Sometimes it makes sense to let a potential editor you’re interested in hiring know what you’re looking for. Be Brutal. When I submit something to an editor, particularly if I am paying that editor, I expect them to be honest and as […]