2018 Scribe Awards Results

On Friday, July 20, 2018, the International Association of Media Tie-in Writers (iamtw.org) announced the winners of the Scribe Awards, the professional organization’s annual “best of” list at San Diego Comic-Con.

A novel I co-wrote with Peter Wacks and Josh Vogt, Solar Singularity, was a finalist in the Original Speculative Fiction category. Alas, we didn’t win this time. It was an honor to be nominated in the first place, but getting beat out for the award in my category by this year’s Faust Award recipient, (the equivalent of IAMTW’s Grandmaster Award), Greg Cox, how can one be disappointed. Just being on the finalist list with this year’s Grandmaster was more than expected.

Congratulations to all of the winners and finalists! The winners are in bold letters.

Short Story

  • (TIE) “Banana Republic” by Jonathan Maberry
  • (TIE) “Ganbatte” by Keith DeCandido
  • “Murderers´ Row” by John Jackson Miller
  • “Pacing Place” by Bob Mayer
  • “Rear Guard” by Sarah Stegall
  • “Storm Blood” by Peter Wacks and David Boop (Congrats to both of you on the finalist nomination!)

Adapted Speculative and General

  • Doctor Who: The Pirate Planet by James Goss
  • Resident Evil: The Final Chapter by Tim Waggoner
  • Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Christie Golden
  • Kong Skull Island by Tim Lebbon

Original Speculative

  • The Librarians and the Mother Goose Chase by Greg Cox
  • Solar Singularity by Peter J. Wacks, Guy Anthony De Marco, and Josh Vogt
  • Halo: Legacy of Onyx by Matt Forbeck
  • Star Wars Battlefront II: Inferno Squad by Christie Golden
  • Star Trek Discovery: Desperate Hours by David Mack
  • Supernatural: The Usual Sacrifices by Yvonne Navarro

Original General

  • Don Pendleton´s The Executioner Fatal Prescription by Michael A. Black
  • The Will to Kill by Mickey Spillane and Max Allan Collins
  • Robert B. Parker´s The Hangman´s Sonnet A Jesse Stone Novel by Reed Farrel Coleman

YA Original

  • Star Wars Adventures in Wild Space – The Cold by Cavan Scott
  • Warriors Three: Godhood´s End by Keith R. A. DeCandido
  • X-Files Origins: Devil´s Advocate by Jonathan Maberry


  • Doctor Who: Across the Darkened City by David Bartlett
  • Doctor Who: Cold Vengeance by Matt Fitton
  • Warhammer 40,000: Agent of the Throne, Blood and Lies by John French
  • Torchwood: Cascade by Scott Handcock
  • Torchwood: The Dying Room by Lizzie Hopley

International Association of Media Tie-In Writers 2017 Faust Award

  • Greg Cox

Comments are closed.